Burger Wars! Burger King’s $1 Double Cheeseburger vs. McDonald’s McDouble Throw Down

By Jesse | October 23, 2009

This week Burger King nationally launched it’s own version of the assignation of Archduke Franz Ferdinand with the roll out of it’s $1 Double cheeseburger. This move is  a direct challenge to McDonald’s $1 McDouble, leading to what could become a major value menu burger war.

As usually, FastFoodReviewed.com is in the thick of it with our own dollar double burger throw down. Let’s see how these two titans of beef stack up.

Wrapped double cheeseburger McDonalds and Burger King

Wrapped double cheeseburger McDonalds and Burger King

Appearance/Presentation

McDouble vs Burger King Double Cheeseburger

McDouble vs Burger King Double Cheeseburger

Both burgers were a little smashed and didn’t look as good as they do in their ads, but hell, they never look as good as they do in the ads. Burger King’s sesame seed bun was definitely a nice touch, and overall BK’s double just looked like a higher quality burger. +1 Burger King

Taste

comparison-double-cheese-eaten

BK’s Double Cheeseburger had its signature, smokey flame broiled taste, a little bit like a burger pulled off the backyard grill, just not quite. McDonald’s tasted just like the hundreds of other McDonald’s burgers I’ve eaten, which is to say it was good in that comforting McDonald’s sort of way. I didn’t even notice the lack of the second slice of cheese. This one really comes down to personal preference, but I’m giving the edge to BK’s double. It just tastes more like a real cheeseburger, and not fast food cheeseburger. +1 Burger King

Nutrition

McDouble:
Here are the facts from McDonald’s McDouble is listed in their nutritional information page.
390 calories
19 grams of fat
8 grams of saturated fat
1 gram of the dreaded trans fat
920 mg of sodium

Burger King’s Double Cheeseburger:
From Burger King’s Menu and Nutrition facts page.
510 calories
29 grams of fat
14 grams of saturated fat
1.5 grams of trans fat
1020 mg of sodium

Yikes, that brings my dinner of both burgers to 900 calories. Good thing I went to the gym.

Not surprisingly, Burger King’s Double Cheeseburger is definitely worse for you. That thing is quite the little calorie, fat and sodium bomb. Don’t get me wrong, the McDouble is not much better, but with only a small sacrifice in taste, the McDouble is the better option nutritionally. (You’re best option is to avoid both) +1 McDonald’s

Value

Both burgers are only $1, so which one gives you the most burger goodness for your buck?

comparison-double-cheese-weight

BK’s double cheeseburger definitely had more heft to it, and that’s not surprising considering it has 120 more calories. The BK double also has an additional slice of cheese, something that McDonald’s removed from their $1 Menu double offering last year.

To give some of you fast food novices a history lesson, about a year ago McDonald’s replaced their Double Cheeseburger on the dollar menu with the McDouble, the same burger, but with a single slice of cheese. They did this in an effort to keep costs down, as some franchises were actually losing money on the Double Cheeseburger. According the Chicago Tribune McDonalds saves 6 cents a sale by not including the extra slice of cheese. You can read more here.

I suspect that Burger King is selling their Double Cheeseburgers at a loss, but with declining sales, this appears to be an effort to increase customer traffic. As I ordered my lonely Double Cheeseburger, the drive through attendant tried to push drinks and sides on me in an effort to increase profit. I’m not sure if I agree with Burger King’s strategy, and don’t see how this is a sustainable business plan.

The Soap Box: Are $1 double cheeseburgers really a good thing? Both options are a ton of calories for $1, and while I’d like to say that’s cool, it again leads me to the question of the high cost of cheap food. It would be a much better thing for America and our waist lines if we could get something comparably healthy for a $1. Can you image a nutritious 500 calorie salad or sandwich for a dollar? Now that would be a good value.

Both Burgers are an exceptional value at only $1. However, Burger King offers more value, but what cost to America and to their own business? I’m calling this one a draw.

There you have it readers, Burger King’s Double Cheeseburger edges out McDonald’s McDouble 2-1-1. And remember, you keep reading and we’ll keep eating so you don’t have to.

24 Responses

  1. Yum Yucky Says:
    October 23rd, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    The thought of these burgers (at this very moment) makes me barf a little, but that is subject to change, and it always does, so I pick the BK Burger. wooo-haaa!

  2. Chris and Jesse Go To White Castle | Fast Food Reviewed Says:
    October 30th, 2009 at 6:30 am

    [...] impressed, that’s for sure. Burgers average out at about a buck a pop, and we all know what else you can get for a buck. Sure, you can get 6 for $3.66 (their current special), but those are just the basic cheeseburgers [...]

  3. Dave Croxton Says:
    January 30th, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    I have been looking at the commercials showing the difference between the two. I really didn’t expect them to taste any different than everything else on the menu. The commercials show Burger Kings to be much taller and more appealing. I was disappointed to say the least. They could have just started making one without all the hype and there would have been no difference. They could have also let a truck run over it; Wait! That’s what they must have done. Unless McDonald’s proves to have something very extraordinary, I would say that Wendy’s would probably win out over both of them. I know one thing, Wendy’s sure is better than the Burger King one.

  4. The NEW New Coffee Wars: 3 Lessons from History to Help Today’s QSR Warriors « TBD Says:
    March 25th, 2010 at 6:22 am

    [...] all, turning penny-profit while setting the price point is in McDonald’s DNA (witness the double cheeseburger wars). Starbucks has always been reticent to give up their price umbrella and the quality signal that [...]

  5. Tony Stark Says:
    April 4th, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    I 100% prefer the burger king double cheeseburger over the McDouble. It has a much meatier taste to it. The McDouble seems to me to have too much ketchup and mustard on it.

  6. Kip Says:
    April 13th, 2010 at 6:50 am

    There are salads for 1$ at burger king. Also, double cheeseburgers are no longer a dollar at BK. They now have a new cheese burger called the “buck double”, same as a double cheeseburger with one less slice of cheese. Hmmm, see the trend forming?

  7. Jesse Says:
    April 13th, 2010 at 6:57 am

    That’s a great point Kip. They were just trying to pull in customers, then pulled the old switcharoo since the $1 doubles were not sustainable.

  8. John Stitnizky Says:
    April 30th, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Both these sandwiches will destroy your health. The McDonalds tastes markedly different because they syeam cook and Birger King grills them. Both have astronomical reading of Sodium and fat not to mention calories (can you feel you arteries starting to block?) Both have trnas fats!!!

  9. cody :) Says:
    July 7th, 2010 at 9:48 pm

    i love McDonalds it’s tasty burgerking sucks and Wendy’s is better than all of them.

    but the best i’ve ever had is whataburger is texas it was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good

  10. The 5 Principles of Web Marketing Says:
    August 1st, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    [...] voters. As a real life example, McDonald’s is trying desperately to retain customers after the release of Burger King’s $1 double cheeseburger. Burger King gave value to its customers by providing a unique smokey flame-broiled taste. [...]

  11. Jurij Fedorov Says:
    August 2nd, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    Wow…You are lucky in the USA. In Denmark we have to pay $1,75 for a regular cheeseburger on coinoffer, without coinoffer it will be way over $2. But I guess we are lucky in Denmark cause we don’t need to pay as much as the Norwegians.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Mac_Index

  12. mk Says:
    August 22nd, 2010 at 9:47 pm

    portland ore aug 22 2010-get a double cheese for buck-throw away buns-go atkins-now-what are the calories?alot less-its the bread that gets you,and if you eat the bun also,you have a VERY bad food combination-high fat,sodium,and high carb-x the buns,eat only the protein and cheese

  13. Ted O Says:
    September 24th, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    Try ordering a buck double without cheese and they will charge you $1.50 for a double hamburger. Glad they screw the lactose intolerant. +1 to McDonald’s here.

  14. yiby Says:
    October 7th, 2010 at 8:01 am

    yo i love anything that is free so i dont know who is the better brand

  15. Mcdonalds: America’s Most Popular Yet Worst Fast Food (Taste & Value) « Cematthe's Blog Says:
    October 18th, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    [...]  http://fastfoodreviewed.com/burger-wars-burger-kings-1-double-cheese-burger-vs-mcdonalds-mcdouble-th… [...]

  16. airic Says:
    November 22nd, 2010 at 12:03 pm

    I work at mcds and I have to say I can only eat a mcdouble once a month now compared to when I didn’t work there. A couple of my friends that work at bk say they don’t give sick of the burgers. It must be the grease. I usualy have to scrape and squeegy the greese after every 2 sets of burgers I put down.

  17. brandon Says:
    December 13th, 2010 at 6:43 am

    I LOVE BURGER KING

  18. brandon Says:
    December 13th, 2010 at 6:44 am

    I LOVE BURGER KING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  19. str458 Says:
    December 23rd, 2010 at 8:08 am

    I remember when either one would send me straight to the toilet- but a decade later I’ve resigned to bad eating habits, choosing BK the better tasting burger.

  20. Beavis Sequoyah Says:
    January 14th, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    You folks rating Burger King higher than McDonald’s must come from areas where the buns aren’t stale, the employees aren’t on drugs and wandering around, the bathrooms don’t smell like rotting crayfish, etc.

    I’ll take a McDouble’s greasy down-the-throat addictive slide any day over that stale sesame seed covered monstrosity. Plus, Burger King melts its cheese with a microwave, because they send their meat through a flame-broiling conveyor. Microwaved beef gets a funny flavor, which shines through in many BK sandwiches I’ve eaten.

    In short, McDouble! McDouble! Only 1 gram of trans fat clogging the arteries! Damn you McDonald’s, and your addictive junk food. Here, we have a double cheeseburger for you. It’s going to be delicious, and only cost a dollar. There’s only one catch: it will KEEL YOU. ARGH!

  21. In Time Says:
    March 2nd, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    review salads and sides plz
    it would be nice to know about all the extra side calories and what not

  22. kevon Says:
    March 21st, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    i love this lllllllloll

  23. shy Says:
    February 4th, 2012 at 11:12 am

    I like bk better because MCDONALDS DOES NOT MELT THE CHEESE! Not even when you personally ask them too! So I say screw mcdonalds go bk!

  24. I love Fod Says:
    February 10th, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    ohh i love me some mcdonalds but ya knw i just have to stop this thinking about food bt im heading to mcdonalds rightnow honey boo boo child!

Comments